One of David Bowie's best, most singular film roles was as the lead of the great Nicolas Roeg (Walkabout, Don't Look Now) experimental 1976 sci-fi film The Man Who Fell to Earth. In it, Bowie plays an alien who registers as an alien purely by seeming like Bowie. If you happen to be in UK, you get the rare thrill of seeing this on the big screen soon. And if you don't happen to live in the UK, you still get a great bonus from this whole situation; The original soundtrack for the film is being released for the first time ever.

The score, which is by John Phillips (of the Mamas & the Papas) and Stomu Yamash’ta and is truly very insane, is being released for the first time ever. The CD is out September 9 (the same day as the British film re-release) and vinyl on November 18 (details here) and will feature a 48-page hardcover book of photos from the film as well as an essay about it by music critic Paolo Hewitt.

And for those of you who don't live in the UK, never fear, there's a great Criterion edition of the singular film if you'd like to catch it in the comfort of your own home.

Check out the trailer for the film and the full tracklist from the soundtrack below.

The Man Who Fell To Earth (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
CD 1
01 - Poker Dice by Stomu Yamash'ta
02 - Blueberry Hill (Single Version) by Gordon Jenkins Orchestra And Choir and Louis Armstrong
03 - Jazz II by John Phillips
04 - The Planets, Op. 32 Venus, The Bringer Of Peace by Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst
05 - Boys From The South by John Phillips
06 - 33 1/3 by Stomu Yamash'ta
07 - Rhumba Boogie by John Phillips
08 - Try To Remember by The The Kingston Trio
09 - Mandala by Stomu Yamash'ta
10 - America by John Phillips
11 - Wind Words by Stomu Yamash'ta
12 - Jazz by John Phillips
CD 2
01 - One Way by Stomu Yamash'ta
02 - Space Capsule by John Phillips
03 - Bluegrass Breakdown by John Phillips
04 - Desert Shack by John Phillips
05 - Memory Of Hiroshima by Stomu Yamash'ta
06 - Window by John Phillips
07 - Alberto by John Phillips
08 - The Planets, Op. 32 Mars,The Bringer Of War (Excerpt) by Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst
09 - Liar, Liar by John Phillips
10 - Hello Mary Lou by John Phillips
11 - Silent Night by Queen's Hall Light Orchestra & Robert Farnon
12 - Love Is Coming Back by Genevieve Waite and John Phillips
13 - The Man Who Fell To Earth (Demo) by John Phillips