After teasing their 2020 return back in January and confirming they had a new album planned in March, Bright Eyes have officially announced Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was, their first album in nine years, due out August 21 via Dead Oceans. Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, and Nathaniel Walcott made the record with Jon Theodore (Mars Volta, Queens of the Stone Age) and the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea, and it includes singles "One and Done," "Forced Convalescene" and "Persona Non Grata." The new single is "Mariana Trench" and you can stream that below.

Bright Eyes' planned reunion tour, their first since 2011, was of course postponed due to coronavirus, but they are getting back together, along with some friends, to perform "Mariana Trench" on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert tonight (6/22).

Check out cover art and tracklist for Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was below.

bright eyes Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was

Down in the Weeds Where the World Once Was tracklist:
01 Pageturner’s Rag
02 Dance and Sing
03 Just Once in the World
04 Mariana Trench
05 One and Done
06 Pan and Broom
07 Stairwell Song
08 Persona Non Grata
09 Tilt-A-Whirl
10 Hot Car in the Sun
11 Forced Convalescence
12 To Death’s Heart (In Three Parts)
13 Calais to Dover
14 Comet Song

More From Brooklyn Vegan