Broken Social Scene released their new single "Halfway Home" in March, and today they announced their first album since 2010's Forgiveness Rock Record. It's called Hug of Thunder, and it comes out on July 7 via City Slang/Arts & Crafts. It includes "Halfway Home" and 11 other songs. As mentioned, it features Feist (whose excellent new album just came out), who told the NY Times that she wrote one song and contributed to about six others. "My only caveat going in was I want to actually contribute — I can’t commit if I’m just singing oohs and aahs," she said.

The album also includes Metric members Emily Haines and James Shaw, Stars members Amy Millan and Evan Cranley, and others. Artwork above. Tracklist below.

This morning, BSS were announced for NYC's The Meadows festival. They have other upcoming dates too. All are listed below.

Broken Social Scene - Hug of Thunder tracklist
1. Sol Luna
2. Halfway Home
3. Protest Song
4. Skyline
5. Stay Happy
6. Vanity Pail Kids
7. Hug Of Thunder
8. Towers and Masons
9. Victim Lover
10. Please Take Me With You
11. Gonna Get Better
12. Mouth Guards of The Apocalypse


Broken Social Scene -- 2017 Tour Dates
May 23 Albert Hall Manchester, United Kingdom
May 24 O2 Academy Brixton London, United Kingdom
May 26 Immergut Festival Neustrelitz, Germany
May 27 Immergut Festival Neustrelitz, Germany
May 28 Muziekcentrum Trix Antwerpen, Belgium
May 29 Paradiso Grote Zaal Amsterdam, Netherlands
May 30 Alhambra Paris, France
Jun 01 Primavera Sound Barcelona, Spain
Jun 03-04 Field Trip Toronto, Canada
Jun 24 Brookside at Rose Bowl Pasadena, CA
Aug 05 Osheaga Montreal, Canada
Sep 15-17 The Meadows Flushing, NY