Built to Spill served as the late Daniel Johnston's backing band in Portland and Vancouver during his 2017 final tour, where he was backed by different artists he influenced in each city. Now Built to Spill are releasing an album based on the rehearsals for those shows. Built To Spill Plays The Songs Of Daniel Johnston is due out May 1 via Ernest Jenning Record Co, and was recorded with the trio of Doug Martsch, Jason Albertini and Steve Gere.

"It was pretty special for us," Martsch told Rolling Stone. "Basically we wanted to get good documentation of what our rehearsals were like. It was a lot heavier than what I thought it would be."

That's the cover art above, and you can see the tracklisting for the album, which comes out on yellow vinyl and accompanied by a 32-page songbook, below.

First track "Bloody Rainbow" hits streaming services on Tuesday (2/4), but you can listen to it early on Rolling Stone.

Build to Spill Plays the Songs of Daniel Johnston Tracklisting
1. Bloody Rainbow
2. Tell Me Now
3. Honey I Sure Miss You
4. Good Morning You
5. Heart, Mind and Soul
6. Life In Vain
7. Mountain Top
8. Queenie The Dog
9. Impossible Love
10. Fake Records Of Rock & Roll
11. Fish