Grunge revivalist Bully (Alicia Bognanno) recently released a two-song single of Nirvana and Orville Peck covers, and now she finally announced her first new album in three years, SUGAREGG, due August 21 via Sub Pop. It was produced and mixed with John Congleton (Cloud Nothings, Angel Olsen, St. Vincent, Swans, etc), whose style is perfect for Bully. The first single is "Where to Start," which is a great example of Bognanno's ability to tap directly into the appeal of '90s grunge while keeping things sounding modern. It's a very promising first taste.

"I was listening to ‘Tubthumping’ by Chumbawamba and picking apart the melodic structure and sort of trying to mimic that," Bognanno told Rolling Stone about the new song. "I’m not even joking; it still makes me laugh to think about. But let’s be real, that is undeniably a solid song. ‘Where to Start’ addresses the frustration that comes along with love having the ability to fully control your mood and mental state for better or worse. It was therapeutic to funnel some lightheartedness into what can be an otherwise draining state of mind."

Listen to the new song and watch the video -- which was shot in isolation and directed by Alan Del Rio Ortiz -- below. Artwork, tracklist, and a stream of the Nirvana/Orville Peck covers single below too.

In addition to Bully, Bognanno wrote the music for the Hole-esque band in Her Smell (which is one of many music-related films you can stream on HBO Max), and she also spoke to RS about that. "People asked if I’d play those songs with Bully but the whole point was for them to not be Bully songs. It was nice to get my head out of my own ass for a second and work on a project for someone else."


SUGAREGG Tracklist
1. Add It On
2. Every Tradition
3. Where to Start
4. Prism
5. You
6. Let You
7. Like Fire
8. Stuck in Your Head
9. Come Down
10. Not Ashamed
11. Hours and Hours
12. What I Wanted

More From Brooklyn Vegan