Last week, Cass McCombs released a new album with his psychedelic supergroup The Skiffle Players and released a teaser for what seemed like a new album called Tip of the Sphere. Turns out that's exactly what the teaser was for. The album's due out February 8 via ANTI-, and lead single "Sleeping Volcanoes" is out today. The album was recorded at Shahzad Ismaily's Figure 8 Studios in Brooklyn, engineered by Sam Evian, and it features Cass' core band of Dan
Horne (bass), Otto Hauser (drums) and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), and "a range of guests" (who are currently not announced). The new single is great, picking up where Mangy Love left off but also sounding like a step in a new direction. Check it out below, along with the artwork and tracklist.

Cass also announced a 2019 U.S. tour, including two NYC shows: March 7 at Murmrr Theatre (tickets) and March 8 at Bowery Ballroom (tickets). Tickets for those shows go on sale Friday (11/2) at 10 AM with a BrooklynVegan presale starting today (10/30) at 10 AM. PASSWORD = McVegan. All dates are listed below.

Tracklist
1. I Followed The River South To What
2. The Great Pixley Train Robbery
3. Estrella
4. Absentee
5. Real Life
6. Sleeping Volcanoes
7. Sidewalk Bop After Suicide
8. Prayer For Another Day
9. American Canyon Sutra
10. Tying Up Loose Ends
11. Rounder

Cass McCombs -- 2018/2019 Tour Dates
Fri. Nov. 9 - Weissenhäuser Strand, DE @ Rolling Stone Weekender
Sat. Nov. 10 - Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who Festival
Sun. Nov. 11 - Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who Festival
Mon. Nov. 12 - London, UK @ Hoxton Hall – SOLD OUT
Wed. Nov. 14 - Leffinge, BE @ De Zwerver
Fri. Nov. 16 - Rust, DE @ Rolling Stone Park
Mon. March 4 - Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Tue. March 5 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Thu. March 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Murrmr Theatre
Fri. March 8 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sat. March 9 - Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. March 15 - Indianapolis, IN @ HiFi
Sat. March 16 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Mon. March 18 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Wed. March 20 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Sat. March 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Tue. March 26 - Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Wed. March 27 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Sat. March 30 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre
Fri. April 5 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore