Genre-defying jazz great Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah is set to follow his excellent, Grammy-nominated 2017 album trilogy with new album, Ancestral Recall, on March 22 via Ropeadope/Stretch Music. He just released the title track, which features hip hop/spoken word great Saul Williams and an instrumental backdrop that's as psychedelic and entrancing as you'd hope for from Christian Scott. Even with guest lead vocals from Saul Williams, Christian's distinctive horn style steals the show, and the shuffling Afrobeat percussion is a real nice touch too. Saul Williams is also on two other songs on the album, and the album also features contributions from Elena Pinderhughes, Weedie Braimah, Logan Richardson, Mike Larry Draw, Chris Turner, and others. Listen to the new song below. Christian says:

In its inception, Ancestral Recall was built as a map to decolonize sound; to challenge previously held misconceptions about some cultures of music; to codify a new folkloric tradition and begin the work of creating a national set of rhythms; rhythms rooted in the synergy between West African, First Nation, African Diaspora/Caribbean rhythms and their marriage to rhythmic templates found in trap music, alt-rock, and other modern forms. It is time we created a sound that dispels singular narratives of entire peoples and looks to finally represent the wealth of narratives found throughout the American experience. An experience that shows all forms of expression in sound are valid, as all people are.

Christian begins his previously-announced residency at NYC's Blue Note Jazz Club tonight (2/5). He's got two shows a night through Friday (2/8). Tickets are still available. He has other dates coming up after that, all of which are listed below.

Christian is also featured on the new Boogie album that just came out two weeks ago.

1. Her Arrival
2. I Own the Night (feat. Saul Williams)
3. The Shared Stories of Rivals [KEITA] (feat. Saul Williams)
4. Forevergirl (feat. Chris Turner & Mike Larry Draw)
5. Diviner [Devan]
6. Overcomer
7. Songs She Never Heard (feat. Logan Richardson)
8. Ritual [Rise of Chief Adjuah]
9. Prophesy
10. Before (feat. Elena Pinderhughes)
11. Double Consciousness
12. Ancestral Recall (feat. Saul Williams)

Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah -- 2019 Tour Dates
Feb 5-8: New York, NY - Blue Note
Feb 14: Amherst, MA - UMass Amherst
Feb 15: Chapel Hill, NC - UNC Chapel Hill Memorial Hall
Feb 19: Seattle, WA - Nectar Lounge
Feb 21: Oakland, CA - The New Parish
Feb 22: Sacramento, CA - Harlow's Restaurant and Nightclub
Feb 23: Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy

More From Brooklyn Vegan