After a seven-year absence, masked UK indie rock Clinic are back with Wheeltappers and Shunters which will be out May 10 via Domino. The title is a reference to the '70s British variety show and the "good ol days" plays into the album's theme. “It’s a satirical take on British culture - high and low,” says Clinic frontman Ade Blackburn. “It fascinates me that people look back on the 1970s as the glory days. It’s emerged that there was a darker, more perverse side to that time. When you look back on it now it was quite clearly there in mainstream culture."

The first single from from the album is "Rubber Bullets" which is not a cover of 10cc's 1972 #1 hit UK single but a typically Clinic-al and claustrophobic original, and comes with a weird and cool animated video by Joseph May. Watch that, and check out the album art and tracklist below.


Wheeltappers and Shunters tracklist:
1. Laughing Cavalier
2. Complex
3. Rubber Bullets
4. Tiger
5. Ferryboat of the Mind
6. Mirage
7. D.I.S.C.I.P.L.E
8. Flying Fish
9. Be Yourself/Year of the Sadist
10. Congratulations
11. Rejoice!
12. New Equations at the Copacabana

More From Brooklyn Vegan