Corinne Bailey Rae made a splash with her 2006 debut album which garnered great reviews and went to #1 in the UK (it went platinum in the U.S. too). She followed it up with 2010's The Sea, and is finally set to release a third album, The Heart Speaks in Whispers, on May 13 via Virgin. She's still got the velvet touch, as her oh-so-smooth new single "Green Aphrodisiac" shows. That song was co-written by Paris and Amber Strother of future-soul group KING (who play the BV SXSW party on Friday), and you can stream that below. The record also features Esperanza Spalding and Miles Davis-bassist Marcus Miller. You can also check out the video for "I Have Been to the Moon," below.

You can catch her live on a short U.S. tour this spring where she'll be playing intimate venues. There are two NYC shows: May 24 at Mercury Lounge (where she played 10 years ago this week) and National Sawdust on May 25. Tickets to Mercury Lounge are currently on AmEx presale and go on sale to the general public Friday (3/18) at noon; tickets to National Sawdust will be on sale soon.

All tour dates are listed, along with the new album's artwork, tracklist, and two singles, below




Corinne Bailey Rae - The Heart Speaks In Whispers tracklist:

1. The Skies Will Break
2. Hey, I Won’t Break Your Heart
3. Been To The Moon
4. Tell Me
5. Stop Where You Are
6. Green Aphrodisiac
7. Horse Print Dress
8. Do You Ever Think Of Me?
9. Caramel
10. Taken By Dreams
11. Walk On
12. Night

May 20 – NON-COMMvention @ World Cafe Live – Philadelphia, PA **WXPN Member Event**
May 22 – U Street Music Hall – Washington DC
May 24 – Mercury Lounge – New York, NY
May 25 – National Sawdust – Brooklyn, NY
June 2 – The Triple Door – Seattle, WA
June 3 – Mississippi Studios – Portland, OR
June 6 – The Independent – San Francisco, CA
June 9-10 –The Lyric Theatre – Los Angeles, CA

More From Brooklyn Vegan