Crocodiles will release their sixth album, Dreamless, on October 21 through Zoo Music. The duo of Brandon Welchez and Charles Rowell made the album in Mexico City with Martin Thulin (who is in Anika's new band, Exploded View) and marks a sonic departure for the band, favoring piano and synths over fuzzed-out guitars. "We’ve always been a guitar band and I think we just wanted to challenge ourselves and our aesthetic,” says Welchez. “It didn’t start as a conscious decision but within the first week Charlie’s mantra became ‘fuck guitars’. Only one song has zero guitar but in general we tried to find alternatives to fill that space."

You can get a taste of Crocodiles' new direction on Dreamless' opening cut "Telepathic Lover" which has a nice, slinky vibe. The video premieres in this post and you can watch that below.

The band haves some European dates in October. Those are listed, along with the new album's artwork and tracklist, below.


Crocodiles - Dreamless tracklist:
01. Telepathic Lover
02. Maximum Penetration
03. Welcome To Hell
04. I'm Sick
05. Go Now
06. Alita
07. Jumping On Angels
08. Time To Kill
09. Jailbird
10. Not Even In Your Dreams

Crocodiles - 2016 Tour Dates
01 Le Nef, Angoulême FR
03 Le Bouffon, Geneva CH
04 Astoria, Turin IT
05 Mattatoio, Capri
06 Freak Out, Bologna IT
07 Le Volume, Nice FR
08 Le Baraka, Clermont Ferrand FR
09 Mecanique-ondulatoire, Paris FR
11 Headrow House, Leeds UK
13 Broadcast, Glasgow UK
14 Night and Day Cafe, Manchester UK
15 Hackney Wonderland, London UK
17 Bitterzoet, Amsterdam NL
19 Chelsea, Vienna AT
22 Gozsdu Manó Klub, Budapest HU

More From Brooklyn Vegan