Cut Copy have announced their sixth album, Freeze, Melt, which will be out August 21 via Cutters Records. It's a bit of a departure for the band, eschewing four-on-the-floor dancefloor fillers in favor of a more ethereal approach. The record includes their first new music in three years, "Love is All We Share" and they've just released glistening new single "Cold Water" which gives us more of an idea of the band's approach this time.

“After extensive touring on our last album, 'Cold Water' was one of the first new songs to appear," says frontman Dan Whitford. "I’d moved to Copenhagen and had been listening to a lot more ambient and instrumental electronic music and as a result "Cold Water" felt quite different to songs we’d made in the past. It was less dance, but more atmospheric. Also the subject matter explores love in today’s context, where the climate and fate of the planet are becoming increasingly uncertain. Once we’d finished it, it felt like we'd placed a marker in the ground, guiding us in a new musical direction.”

Watch the "Cold Water" music video, and check out Freeze, Melt's artwork and tracklist, below.

cut copy freeze melt

1. Cold Water
2. Like Breaking Glass
3. Love Is All We Share
4. Stop, Horizon
5. Running In The Grass
6. A Perfect Day
7. Rain
8. In Transit

More From Brooklyn Vegan