Dan Deacon is back and will release Mystic Familiar, his first album in nearly five years, on January 31 via Domino. The first single is “Sat by a Tree,” which is blissed out and contemplative but still very much a hyperactive Dan Deacon song. The bugged-out video was directed by Daren Rabinovitch of film and animation studio Encyclopedia Pictura and stars comedian/actor Aparna Nancherla. It’s definitely worth watching, unless you have an issue with creepy crawly things, then maybe not. Check that out, along with a making-of short, below.

You can catch Dan on tour soon, including a Southeast run in November, and a just-announced 2020 tour that runs through late winter and spring. There’s a NYC show at Brooklyn Steel on May 1Tickets for Brooklyn Steel — and all dates of the tour — go on sale Friday, November 1 at 10 AM local, with an AmEx presale starting Wednesday (10/30) at 10 AM.

All dates are listed, along with Mystic Familiar‘s cover art and tracklist, below

dan-deacon-mystic-familiar

Mystic Familiar tracklist:
1. Become a Mountain
2. Hypnagogic
3. Sat By A Tree
4. Arp I: Wide Eyed
5. Arp II: Float Away
6. Arp III: Far From Shore
7. Arp IV: Any Moment
8. Weeping Birch
9. Fell Into the Ocean
10. My Friend
11. Bumble Bee Crown King

Dan Deacon – 2019/2020 Tour Dates:
Fri. November 1 – Knoxville, TN @ Pilot Light
Sat. November 2 – Chattanooga, TN @ JJ’s Bohemia
Sun. November 3 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Tue. November 5 – Tallahassee, FL @ The Bark
Wed. November 6 – Orlando, FL @ Wills Pub
Thu. November 7 – Miami, FL @ Floyd
Fri. November 8 – Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbits
Sat. November 9 – Gainesville, FL @ The Atlantic
Tue. November 12 – Athens, GA @ 40 Watt Club
Wed. November 13 – Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre
Thu. November 14 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Elevation 27
Fri. Jan. 31 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social
Sat. Feb. 1 – Glasgow, UK @ Classic Grand
Tue. Feb. 4 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell
Thu. Feb. 6 – London, UK @ Scala
Mon. Feb. 10 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Wed. Feb. 26 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern
Thu. Feb. 27 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Fri. Feb. 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety
Sat. Feb. 29 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Sun. March 1 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Tue. March 3 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Thu. March 5 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Fri. March 6 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
Sat. March 7 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn
Sun. March 8 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co.
Tue. March 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Wed. March 11 – San Diego, CA – Music Box
Thu. March 12 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Fri. March 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theater
Sat. March 14 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Mon. March 16 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s
Thu. March 19 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Fri. March 20 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune
Sat. March 21 – Vancouver, BC @ VENUE
Tue. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Wed. March 25 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Fri. March 27 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Sat. March 28 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Mon. March 30 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
Tue. March 31 – St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room
Thu. April 2 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Fri. April 3 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater
Sat. April 4 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Thu. April 16 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
Fri. April 17 – Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s
Sat. April 18 – Cincinnati, OH @ Urban Artifact
Sun. April 19 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall
Tue. April 21 – Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI Indianapolis
Wed. April 22 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner
Thu. April 23 – Detroit, MI @ Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit
Fri. April 24 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Sat. April 25 – Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt
Sun. April 26 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Tue. April 28 – Portland, ME @ SPACE Gallery
Wed. April 29 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Thu. April 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Fri. May 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Sat. May 2 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club