Norwegian black metal vets Darkthrone — still with classic-era vocalist/guitarist Nocturno Culto and drummer Fenriz — are set to follow 2016’s Arctic Thunder with their seventeenth album, Old Star, on May 31 via Peaceville (pre-order). Nocturno Culto produced and engineered the album, and Sanford Parker mixed it.

Fenriz says, “Old star – again we are here with THE RIFFS! A while after our previous ARCTIC THUNDER album it became apparent that we would continue in that same style, BLACK OLD HEAVY METAL with slow thrash, classic doom and slow death metal,” and he also adds, “All in all it is our most 80s album so far and our most metal one to date with drum sound typical for the 80s USA/German market and damned lyrics, which are all written by me. We feel that OLD STAR is the big brother of ARCTIC THUNDER. More solid and with even better riffs.”

You can get a taste of those riffs from the furious, seven-and-a-half minute lead single “The Hardship of the Scots,” which proves that — three decades into their career — this legendary band refuses to slow down. Listen and check out the tracklist below.

1. I Muffle Your Inner Choir [06:26]
2. The Hardship Of The Scots [07:36]
3. Old Star [04:28]
4. Alp Man [05:27]
5. Duke Of Gloat [06:49]
6. The Key Is Inside The Wall [07:24]