Dark Was the Night

This is exciting. Not only will the much-talked-about new National-curated Red Hot compilation Dark Was The Night be released by 4AD in one month (February 17th to be exact), they've now officially handed out the first MP3 which happens to be one of the tracks I was most looking forward to - the collaboration between David Byrne and Dirty Projectors. It's called "Knotty Pine". Download it above. More:

[The album is] comprised of 31 exclusive tracks and it will be available as a double cd/triple vinyl/download and will benefit the Red Hot Organization - an international charity dedicated to raising money and awareness for HIV and AIDS through popular culture. They are the people responsible for albums including No Alternative, Red Hot and Blue and many more, and this is their 20th year, and this is the 20th release!

Beginning on January 15th, 4AD will begin a track-by-track premiere of the Dark Was the Night compilation. From January 15 through February 1, each track, in order will be streamed for one day only at http://www.myspace.com/DarkWasTheNight as well as on the bands MySpace page.

Other aritsts on the comp include Jose Gonzalez, The Books, Feist, Ben Gibbard, Bon Iver, Grizzly Bear, The National, Nico Muhly, Yeasayer, My Brightest Diamond, Kronos Quartet, Antony, The Decemberists, Iron and Wine, Feist, Sufjan Stevens, Spoon, Arcade Fire, Beirut, My Morning Jacket, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings, Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio, Castanets, Buck 65, The New Pornographers, Yo La Tengo, Stuart Murdoch, Riceboy Sleeps (aka Jón "Jónsi" Birgisson of Sigur ros and Parachutes' Alex Somers), Andrw Bird, Cat Power, Gillian Welch, Blonde Redhead, Devastations, and Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew.

David Byrne also recently collaborated with Dizzee Rascal and The Brighton Port Authority on a new track which you can download HERE. Ben Gibbard sings with Feist on the Red Hot comp. Other recent "collaborations" for him include getting engaged to She & Him's Zooey Deschanel. Nico Muhly did the arrangements for the song The National play on this new album. The album also includes a Grizzly Bear song, and a "Grizzly Bear + Feist" track. Nico Muhly also did the arrangements for the live show Grizzly Bear will soon play with an orchestra at Brooklyn Philharmonic.

The full Dark was the Night tracklist is below...

1 Knotty Pine - Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
2 Cello Song (Nick Drake) - The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
3 Train Song (Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) - Feist + Ben Gibbard
4 Brackett, WI - Bon Iver
5 Deep Blue Sea - Grizzly Bear
6 So Far Around the Bend - The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)
7 Tightrope - Yeasayer
8 Feeling Good (popularized by Nina Simone) - My Brightest Diamond
9 Dark Was the Night (Blind Willie Johnson) - Kronos Quartet
10 I Was Young When I Left Home (Bob Dylan) - Antony + Bryce Dessner
11 Big Red Machine - Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
12 Sleepless - The Decemberists
13 Stolen Houses (Die) - Iron and Wine
14 Service Bell - Grizzly Bear + Feist
15 You Are The Blood - Sufjan Stevens

1 Well-Alright - Spoon
2 Lenin - Arcade Fire
3 Mimizan - Beirut
4 El Caporal - My Morning Jacket
5 Inspiration Information (Shuggie Otis) - Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
6 With A Girl Like You (The Troggs) - Dave Sitek
7 Blood Pt 2 (based on original song "You are the Blood" by the Castanets) - Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
8 Hey, Snow White (Destroyer) - The New Pornographers
9 Gentle Hour (Snapper) - Yo La Tengo
10 Another Saturday (traditional song) - Stuart Murdoch
11 Happiness - Riceboy Sleeps
12 Amazing Grace (traditional song) - Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues
13 The Giant Of Illinois (Handsome Family) - Andrew Bird
14 Lua - Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch
15 When the Road Runs Out - Blonde Redhead + Devastations
16 Love vs. Porn - Kevin Drew

More From Brooklyn Vegan