David Byrne's Broadway run of American Utopia is underway, having officially opened on Sunday (10/20) at The Hudson Theatre and continues through January 19. While the show is based on his great 2018 tour -- featuring Byrne and 11 musicians presenting his solo and Talking Heads songs in an “untethered” form on a stage free of cables, amplifiers and other equipment -- it has been tweaked, with help from choreographer Annie-B Parson, for a more theatrical experience, with a little more more between-song banter and a slightly different setlist. Tickets are still available.

You can listen to the whole Broadway show now as the official cast recording has been released digitally via Nonesuch, with a double CD edition out November 22 and vinyl due later this winter. You can listen to that below. You can also watch a video made at American Utopia on Broadway's opening night, featuring live footage and interviews with Byrne and his band. Watch that below as well.

American Utopia on Broadway Original Cast Recording tracklist:
1. Here
2. I Know Sometimes a Man Is Wrong / Don’t Worry about the Government
3. Lazy
4. This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)
5. I Zimbra
6. Slippery People
7. I Should Watch TV
8. Everybody’s Coming to My House
9. Once in a Lifetime
10. Glass, Concrete & Stone
11. Toe Jam
12. Born under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
13. I Dance Like This
14. Bullet
15. Every Day Is a Miracle
16. Blind 17. Burning Down the House
18. Hell You Talmbout
19. One Fine Day
20. Road to Nowhere
*CD and digital bonus track: The Great Curve

More From Brooklyn Vegan