Boston hardcore band Defeater are following 2015's Abanonded with their first album in nearly four years on May 10 via Epitaph (pre-order). It's self-titled and it's their first album made with producer Will Yip, following the departure of longtime guitarist/producer Jay Maas. Despite the long gap between albums and the significant lineup change, lead single "Mothers' Sons" has Defeater sounding as crushing as ever. It's bold, passionate hardcore with just the right amount of melody, and Will Yip's crystal clear production helps bring out the best in Defeater. The song comes with a video made up of kaleidoscopic studio footage. Check it out below.

Artwork, tracklist, and list of tour dates (all in EU/UK) below too). US dates TBA.


1. The Worst Of Fates
2. List & Heel
3. Atheists In Foxholes
4. Mothers' Sons
5. Desperate
6. All Roads
7. Stale Smoke
8. Dealer / Debtor
9. No Guilt
10. Hourglass
11. No Man Born Evil

Defeater -- 2019 Tour Dates
4-19 Germany / Berlin / Musik Und Frieden^
4-20 Germany / Leipzig / Impericon Festival
4-21 Czech Republic / Prague / Futurum^
4-22 Hungary / Budapest / Duerer Kert^
4-23 Austria / Wien / Arena^
4-24 Germany / Munchen / Feierwerk^
4-25 Germany / Oberhausen / Kuttempel^
4-26 France / Paris / Gibus^
4-27 Belgium / Merhout / Grozerock
4-28 UK / Leeds / Outbreak Fest^

^ - w/ Dead Swans, Swain

More From Brooklyn Vegan