Chicago trio Dehd are back with sophomore album Flower of Devotion, which will be out June 17 via Fire Talk. “The last record, the vibe was ‘How minimal can it be? What’s the minimum that a song requires to succeed?’ This one was like, ‘How can we make this thing that’s really powerful?,” says singer/guitarist Jason Balla, while singer/bassist Emily Kempf adds, “We didn’t become more perfectionist. We’ve always been really scrappy, but we decided to polish our scrappiness just a little bit.”

First single “Loner” is definitely more polished than anything on Dehd’s debut, with big synths fattening up their still distinctive sound. Watch the video, which was shot in Joshua Tree and at Chicago’s The Hideout, below.

Dehd Flower of Devotion album cover

Dehd - Flower of Devotion tracklist
1. Desire
2. Loner
3. Haha
4. Drip Drop
5. Month
6. Disappear
7. Flood
8. Letter
9. Nobody
10. No Time
11. Moonlight
12. Apart
13. Flying

More From Brooklyn Vegan