Former Majical Cloudz frontman Devon Welsh has announced his solo debut, Dream Songs, which will be out August 24. Having written most of the songs first, Devon brought the demos to Austin Tufts (Braids) and the two worked on the songs in Tufts' Montreal studio, reworking them from the ground up. The album includes "Vampires" and "I'll Be Your Ladder," and a new single, the album's string-laden opener, "By the Daylight." Says Welsh, "Life often seems like a catastrophe of one kind or another, events seem out of our control. Sometimes it feels like we're just swept along in a tide we don't really understand, and this song is about experiencing that feeling." You can watch the video for "By the Daylight" (directed by Christopher Honeywell) below.

Devon is self releasing the album, as he explains in a note posted to Twitter which you can read below. He was in Brooklyn back in June where he debuted his new live band at Park Church Co-Op. No word on new tour dates -- stay tuned.


Devon Welsh - Dream Songs tracklist:
1. By The Daylight
2. Summer's End
3. Dreams Have Pushed You Around
4. Vision
5. Comedian
6. Chances
7. Vampires
8. I'll Be Your Ladder
9. Over The Sky
10. Take It Easy

More From Brooklyn Vegan