Matthew Melton has spent the last few years fronting great garage-y power pop outfit Warm Soda (and Bare Wires before that). He's put that band to bed and formed Dream Machine with his wife, Doris, heading into new sonic territory -- that of heavy, organ-fueled prog and psych. The new band's debut album, The Illusion, will be out May 19 via Castle Face and we'll let label head (and Thee Oh Sees frontman) John Dwyer tell you a little more about it:

When Matthew Melton told us he had two brand new records for us to hear, a final Warm Soda record as well as a new band with his wife Doris called Dream Machine, I must admit there was a little sadness that Warm Soda had run its course. Then I put on Dream Machine and poof, a puff of smoke and a familiar looking magician appears, beckoning for me to jump through his top hat and we’re off! The vibe makes a deft jump from Warm Soda’s terse power pop to tongue in groove swinging proto-metal a la Iron Butterfly, Deep Purple, Heart, and more than a hint of LA’s dark masters The Doors…Doris absolutely murders the organ all over this thing, along with some perfectly placed synthesiser pepper - it’s just jammed with hooks and pulsing vintage vibes but in an unassailably clever and accomplished manner.

We've got the premiere of the video for "I Walked In The Fire," which visually matches the classic sound of the song. Check it out, and the album artwork and tracklist, below.

Dream Machine have a couple Austin, TX dates in March, including one during SXSW. Those are listed below.


Dream Machine - The Illusion tracklist:
1. The Illusion
2. Eye For An Eye
3. I Walked In The Fire
4. Buried Alive
5. Torn From The Hands Of Another
6. All For A Chance
7. Lose My Place In Time
8. Caught In A Trap
9. Nothing Left
10. Back To You
11. Weeping Statue

Dream Machine - 2017 Live Dates
March 4th - Austin TX - Hotel Vegas w/ Trouble Boys, Tear Dungeon
March 15th 2017 - Austin TX - Hotel Vegas SXSW w/ Protex and The Dead Boys

More From Brooklyn Vegan