Jazz drummer Dan Weiss, who has played with Rudresh Mahanthappa, Chris Potter, John Zorn and others, has a new album, Starebaby, that will be out April 6 via Pi Recordings. He made the record with Craig Taborn and Matt Mitchell on keyboards, piano, and electronics, Ben Monder on guitar, and Trevor Dunn (Fantomas, Tomahawk, Mr. Bungle, Secret Chiefs 3) on bass. Preorders are available.

Weiss cites metal bands like Meshuggah, Burning Witch, High on Fire, Gorguts, early Metallica, Wormed, and Confessor as sonic influences on the album, while thematically/psychically the record is heavily inspired by the third season of David Lynch's Twin Peaks. The album ends with "Episode 8" (which current Twin Peaks fans know as "Got a Light?"), and there's also the intense, pounding track "Badalamenti" which pays tribute to the show's composer. Says Dan:

"Badalamenti" was directly inspired from Twin Peaks Season Three. Lynch's work deals with juxtaposed environments that often intermingle in intriguing ways. I used this concept in this song. There is a lyrical melody throughout, but there also lies an underbelly of uneasiness and brutality.

"Badalamenti" makes its premiere in this post and you can stream it, and check the LP's artwork and tracklist, below.

Dan and his group will celebrate the release of Starebaby with a show at NYC's Nublu 151 on April 1 which is also with the guitar duo of Mick Barr (Orthrelm, Krallice) and Brandon Seabrook (Needle Driver). Tickets are on sale.


Starebaby Track Listing:
1. A Puncher’s Chance
2. Depredation
3. Annica
4. Badalamenti
5. Cry Box
6. The Memory of My Memory
7. Veiled
8. Episode 8

More From Brooklyn Vegan