Matthew E. White met Flo Morrissey at a Lee Hazlewood tribute in London where they performed "Some Velvet Morning." The two hit it off and from there it spun off into an album of duet covers, Gentlewoman, Ruby Man, which is due out January 13 via Glassnote. It includes their takes on songs by Roy Ayers, Frank Ocean, Leonard Cohen, Velvet Underground, and more. Their voices suit each other, and the record's smooth, lush vibe (even if some of the covers, like Roy Ayers' "Everybody Loves the Sunshine," are a little rote.) You can check out three songs off the LP -- the theme to "Grease," Little Wing's "Look At What The Light Did Now," and Nino Ferrer's "Looking for You" -- below.

Flo and Matthew have a few live dates lined up, including a show at Brooklyn's Baby's All Right on February 9 where they'll perform the LP in full. Tickets are on sale now. All dates are listed below.


Flo Morrissey & Matthew E. White - Gentlewoman, Ruby Man tracklist
1- Look At What The Light Did Now (Little Wings cover)
2- Thinking ‘Bout You (Frank Ocean cover)
3- Looking For You (Nino Ferrer cover)
4- Colour Of Anything (James Blake cover)
5- Everybody Loves The Sunshine (Roy Ayers cover)
6- Grease (Barry Gibb cover)
7- Suzanne (Leonard Cohen cover)
8- Sunday Morning (Velvet Underground cover)
9- Heaven Can Wait (Charlotte Gainsbourg cover)
10- Govindam (George Harrison cover)

Flo Morrissey & Matthew E. White - 2017 Tour Dates
Feb 7 – Richmond, VA – The Broadberry
Feb 9 – Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right
Feb 13 – London, UK – Union Chapel
Feb 15 – Paris, France - La Maroquinerie

More From Brooklyn Vegan