Fontaines D.C. with Aiden Gillen
Fontaines D.C. with Aiden Gillen

Fontaines D.C. announce new LP, share first video starring Aidan Gillen (The Wire/GoT)

Ireland’s Fontaines D.C. will release new album A Hero’s Death on July 31 via Partisan. Once again, the band worked with producer Dan Carey (who worked on their debut) and they’ve just shared the first single which is also A Hero’s Death‘s title track. The video, directed by Hugh Mulhearn, puts them on a fictional talk show hosted by Aidan Gillen who you may know better as Littlefinger from Game of Thrones or as Baltimore politician Tommy Carcetti on The Wire. Things get more than a little surreal as singer Grian Chatten repeats “Life ain’t always empty.” Here’s more on the song and video from Chatten:

The song is a list of rules for the self, they’re principles for self-prescribed happiness that can often hang by a thread. It’s ostensibly a positive message, but with repetition comes different meanings, that’s what happens to mantras when you test them over and over. There’s this balance between sincerity and insincerity as the song goes on and you see that in the music video as well. That’s why there’s a lot of shifting from major key to minor key. The idea was influenced by a lot of the advertising I was seeing – the repetitive nature of these uplifting messages that take on a surreal and scary feel the more you see them.

The title came from a line in a play by Brendan Behan, and I wrote the lyrics during a time where I felt consumed by the need to write something else to alleviate the fear that I would never be able follow up ‘Dogrel.’ But more broadly it’s about the battle between happiness and depression, and the trust issues that can form tied to both of those feelings.

Watch the “A Hero’s Death” video, and check out album art and tracklist, below.

Meanwhile: Kate Dickie, who played Lysa Arryn on Game of Thrones, shows up in Sleaford Mods’ new video today.

fontaines-dc a hero's death

A Hero’s Death tracklist:
01 “I Don’t Belong”
02 “Love Is The Main Thing”
03 “Televised Mind”
04 “A Lucid Dream”
05 “You Said”
06 “Oh Such A Spring”
07 “A Hero’s Death”
08 “Living In America”
09 “I Was Not Born”
10 “Sunny”
11 “No”