freakwater - scheherazade

Outsider country collective Freakwater, fronted by Catherine Irwin and Janet Beveridge Bean, have announced a new album Scheherazade which will be their first in over a decade. It'll be out February 5, 2016 on Bloodshot. The first single is "The Asp and the Albatross" which is out now on 7" and you can stream it, and check out the album's tracklist, below.

Freakwater will also be on tour shortly after the album's release, and they'll play Brooklyn's The Bell House on February 16 with Jaye Jayle (aka Young Widows singer Evan Patterson), and Morgan Geer's Drunken Prayer. Tickets for that show go on sale Friday (11/6) at noon.

---

freakwater - scheherazade

Freakwater - Scheherazade tracklist:
1. What the People Want
2. The Asp and the Albatross
3. Bolshevik and Bollweevil
4. Down Will Come Baby
5. Falls of Sleep
6. Take Me with You
7. Velveteen Matador
8. Skinny Knee Bone
9. Number One with a Bullet
10. Memory Vendor
11. Missionfield
12. Ghost Song

Freakwater - 2015/2016 Tour Dates
Sat 14 Nov 2015 - Elk Creek Café & Aleworks Millheim, PA
Wed 10 Feb 2016 - The Ark Ann Arbor, MI
Thu 11 Feb 2016 - Beachland Tavern Cleveland, OH
Fri 12 Feb 2016 - The Drake Hotel Toronto, ON, Canada Tickets
Sat 13 Feb 2016 - The Dock Ithaca, NY
Sun 14 Feb 2016 - Great Scott Allston, MA
Tue 16 Feb 2016 - The Bell House Brooklyn, NY
Wed 17 Feb 2016 - Boot & Saddle Philadelphia, PA
Thu 18 Feb 2016 - DC9 Nightclub Washington, DC
Fri 19 Feb 2016 - Club Café Pittsburgh, PA
Sat 20 Feb 2016 - Zanzabar Louisville, KY
Sun 21 Feb 2016 - The Riot Room Kansas City, MO
Tue 23 Feb 2016 - The Walnut Room - Walnut St. Denver, CO
Thu 25 Feb 2016 - The State Room Salt Lake City, UT
Sat 27 Feb 2016 - The Tractor Tavern Seattle, WA
Sun 28 Feb 2016 - Mississippi Studios Portland, OR
Tue 01 Mar 2016 - The Chapel San Francisco, CA
Wed 02 Mar 2016 - The Echo Los Angeles, CA
Thu 03 Mar 2016 - Valley Bar Phoenix, AZ
Fri 04 Mar 2016 - The Flycatcher Tucson, AZ
Sat 05 Mar 2016 - Low Spirits Bar & Stage Albuquerque, NM
Mon 07 Mar 2016 - Kessler Theater Dallas, TX
Tue 08 Mar 2016 - Sidewinder Austin, TX
Wed 09 Mar 2016 - Gasa Gasa New Orleans, LA
Thu 10 Mar 2016 - Barking Legs Theater Chattanooga, TN
Fri 11 Mar 2016 - Grey Eagle Asheville, NC
Sat 12 Mar 2016 - Eddie's Attic Decatur, GA
Sun 13 Mar 2016 - The Basement Nashville, TN
Mon 14 Mar 2016 - Off Broadway St Louis, MO
Wed 16 Mar 2016 - Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
Fri 18 Mar 2016 - Hideout Chicago, IL, US