South Bronx rapper Fred the Godson has been around for over a decade and, after taking a short break from music, he began making a comeback last year and has stayed highly prolific since. He released two full-length albums last year, a collab LP with Brooklyn vet Joell Ortiz and production duo The Heatmakerz called Gorilla Glue, and his own God Level which also featured a handful of Heatmakerz beats and guest appearances by Benny the Butcher (of the fast-rising Griselda crew), 38 Spesh, Jim Jones, Marc Scibilia, Axel Leon, Bobbi Storm, and Sweetest Voice. In case you're unfamiliar, Fred is very much cut from the the gritty '90s New York street rap cloth, and it's good timing that his comeback is coinciding with (and linked to) Griselda's unexpected fame. If you're into what those guys are doing right now but haven't checked out God Level, that's worth changing.

Fred is also already set to release a new album, Payback, on March 12, and first single "Rae" ft. frequent Benny the Butcher collaborator 38 Spesh is out now. It's yet another fine example of throwback New York rap, and you can stream it below.

Before the new album comes out, he'll play a set of God Level songs at NYC's SOB's on February 25 with Donnie Durag, G5elz, Des the Problem, Ciph Boogie, and Kris Lee (tickets). He also plays a Buffalo-area show on April 4 at Stamps. Those are his only upcoming shows at the moment.

Payback Tracklist
1. Baggies
2. Strategies
3. Go Get 'Em
4. Concurrent f/ Axel Leon
5. Payback
6. Skit
7. Rae f/ 38 Spesh
8. Sweet Nothings f/ Klass Murda
9. Holy Weight
10. God Is Great

More From Brooklyn Vegan