by Bill Pearis

Gaz Coombes

Have started Supergrass when he was 16, Gaz Coombes has 22 years in the music biz under is belt and has yet to hit 40. (He'll be 39 in March.) Gaz is set to release his second solo album, Matador, on January 26. He made the record at his home studio, playing everything himself. Like recent solo works by Thom Yorke and Damon Albarn, Matador mixes downtempo electronics and moody soundscapes but filtered through Gaz's glammy leanings and pop sensibilities. The record just recieved 5/5 stars in the new issue of MOJO. You can check out first single "20/20" and snippets from the whole album below.

Gaz also sings lead on "Spooks" from the Inherent Vice soundtrack, a song that was, at one point, intended for Radiohead but repurposed by Jonny Greenwood. No word on an official U.S. release for Matador or North American tour dates but Coombes does have UK/European dates and those are listed below.

---

Gaz Coombes - 2015 Tour Dates
Wed 28 Jan 2015 Rough Trade East London, UK
Wed 04 Feb 2015 The Fleece Bristol, UK
Thu 05 Feb 2015 The Old Market Hove, UK
Fri 06 Feb 2015 Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre London, UK
Sat 07 Feb 2015 O2 Academy Oxford Oxford, UK
Mon 09 Feb 2015 Glee Club Birmingham, UK
Tue 10 Feb 2015 Pleasance Theatre Edinburgh, UK
Wed 11 Feb 2015 Manchester Gorilla Manchester, UK
Fri 13 Feb 2015 Rock Cafe St. Pauli Hamburg, Germany
Sat 14 Feb 2015 Frannz Berlin, Germany
Mon 16 Feb 2015 Bitterzoet Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tue 17 Feb 2015 Botanique - Rotonde Brussels, Belgium
Wed 18 Feb 2015 La Maroquinerie Paris, France