NYC collective Ghost Funk Orchestra make music that blends psych, funk, surf and other styles into their own groovy, mysterious sound. The group will release their debut album, A Song For Paul, on August 23 via Colemine Records (who have put out records by Durand Jones, Ikebe Shakedown and more.) You can get a taste via the trippy “Seven Eight” which the band says is “about having a crush. When writing the song, we chose an awkward time signature because having a crush will make anyone feel a little awkward.” Check out the video for the song, which features visuals from Drippy Eye Projections, below.

Ghost Funk Orchestra have a few local shows on the horizon, including playing Elsewhere Zone One on Tuesday (7/30) with Godcaster and headliners A Giant Dog (tickets); August 11 on Our Wicked Lady's Rooftop which is Jonathan Toublin's Soul Scream series with headliners The Mystery Lights (tickets); the Bryant Park Emerging Music Festival on August 24 with Tomberlin, Renata Zeiguer and Remember Sports; and National Sawdust on October 24 with The Wali Sanga (tickets on sale soon).


A Song for Paul tracklist
1. Intro
2. Walk Like A Motherfucker
3. Kaddish
4. Modern Scene
5. Slow Down
6. Interlude
7. A Song For Paul
8. Spirits In The Distance
9. Seven Eight
10. Broken Boogaloo
11. Skin I'm In
12. Isaac Hayes
13. Interlude II
14. A Conversation

Ghost Funk Orchestra - 2019 Tour Dates
7/30/19 - Elsewhere w/ A Giant Dog
8/11/19 - Our Wicked Lady (roof) w/ The Mystery Lights, Jonathan Toubin
8/24/19 - Bryant Park Emerging Music Festival
10/24/19 - National Sawdust w/ The Wali Sanga

More From Brooklyn Vegan