Gil Scott-Heron

Gil Scott-Heron's XL Recording debut, I'm New Here, his first record since 1994, is due February 9th (a month later than intially reported). One hard-hitting track from the album is posted above, and more clips are available on his site.

Gil Heron-Scott has two performances coming up on Martin Luther King Jr Day (1/17) at SOB's. Tickets are on sale for the 7:30pm and 10:30pm sets.

Gil and album producer (and XL owner) Richard Russell talked about the recording process in a November BBC segment. That and the album tracklist are posted below...

Gil Scott-Heron - Newsnight Part 1

Gil Scott-Heron - Newsnight Part 2

'I'm New Here' tracklist
1. On Coming From A Broken Home (Pt. 1)
2. Me And The Devil
3. I'm New Here
4. Your Soul And Mine
5. Parents (Interlude)
6. I'll Take Care Of You
7. Being Blessed (Interlude)
8. Where Did The Night Go
9. I Was Guided (Interlude)
10. New York Is Killing Me
11. Certain Things (Interlude)
12. Running
13. The Crutch
14. I've Been Mee (Interlude)
15. On Coming From A Broken Home (Pt. 2)

More From Brooklyn Vegan