Godspeed You! Black Emperor have shared the first song off their upcoming album, Luciferian Towers, which drops on September 22 via Constellation. It's the nearly-eight-minute opening track, "Undoing A Luciferian Towers," which starts out rather calm but turns into something much more frantic. Listen below. Godspeed have also given some context for the new album and for each individual song:

this, this long-playing record, a thing we made in the midst of communal mess, raising dogs and children. eyes up and filled with dreadful joy – we aimed for wrong notes that explode, a quiet muttering amplified heavenward. we recorded it all in a burning motorboat.

(context as follows:)

1. UNDOING A LUCIFERIAN TOWERS – look at that fucking skyline! big lazy money writ in dull marble obelisks! imagine all those buildings much later on, hollowed out and stripped bare of wires and glass, listen- the wind is whistling through all 3,000 of its burning window-holes!

2. BOSSES HANG – labor, alienated from the wealth it creates, so that holy cow, most of us live precariously! kicking at it, but barely hanging on! also – the proud illuminations of our shortened lives! also – more of us than them! also – what we need now is shovels, wells, and barricades!

3. FAM / FAMINE – how they kill us = absentee landlord, burning high-rise. the loud panics of child-policemen and their exploding trigger-hands. with the dull edge of an arbitrary meritocracy. neglect, cancer maps, drone strike, famine. the forest is burning and soon they’ll hunt us like wolves.

4. ANTHEM FOR NO STATE – kanada, emptied of its minerals and dirty oil. emptied of its trees and water. a crippled thing, drowning in a puddle, covered in ants. the ocean doesn’t give a shit because it knows it’s dying too.

finally and in conclusion;
the “luciferian towers” L.P. was informed by the following grand demands:
+ an end to foreign invasions
+ an end to borders
+ the total dismantling of the prison-industrial complex
+ healthcare, housing, food and water acknowledged as an inalienable human right
+ the expert fuckers who broke this world never get to speak again


01. ‘Undoing A Luciferian Towers’
02. ‘Bosses Hang, Pt. I’
03. ‘Bosses Hang, Pt. II’
04. ‘Bosses Hang, Pt. III’
05. ‘Fam/Famine’
06. ‘Anthem for No State, Pt. I’
07. ‘Anthem for No State, Pt. II’
08. ‘Anthem for No State, Pt. III’

More From Brooklyn Vegan