Grandaddy frontman Jason Lytle has a new album titled Arthur King Presents Jason Lytle: NYLONANDJUNO which is out August 16 via Dangerbird Records. It's the latest installment in an ongoing experimental album series from creative collective Arthur King and, as hinted by the title, Jason made it using only a Juno synthesizer and a nylon-string acoustic guitar. "I wondered how working within these limitations would end up," Lytle says of making the instrumental album. "Turns out it was a pretty fulfilling exercise just concentrating on going deep and trying to achieve certain feelings based on the song titles and subject matter I was chasing." We've got the premiere of "Dry Gulched," which sounds like a cautious exploration of an alien landscape. "Getting 'dry gulched' is an ol’ timey term for getting ambushed or attacked," Jason tells us. "It’s just absurd or funny because Rodeo drive in Beverly Hills is what it is." Listen to that below.

While Grandaddy’s current status is up in the air, Jason does have a few solo shows in the works, including NYC's Joe's Pub on August 11 (tickets). He's also opening an art exhibition at 99 Orchard in conjunction with Arthur King that also features works from Randy Randall. That's on display from August 15-21 and Jason will be playing the opening reception.

This weekend, he'll be in Dallas to play the grand opening of Good Records' new home on Saturday, July 27. Polyphonic Spree's Tim Delaughter, who owns Good Records, will play as well -- more info is here.

Arthur King Presents Jason Lytle: NYLONANDJUNO – tracklist
1. Hitch Your Wagon To A Falling Star
2. Change Of Address / 433 Eros
3. Geese Over Sunlight Ace
4. Don’t Wanna Be There For All That Stuff
5. Dry Gulched On Rodeo Drive
6. 15 Items Or Lesson You
7. Iris Leader Evening Footage
8. Headed To The No Light District


More From Brooklyn Vegan