by Bill Pearis

DOWNLOAD: Grass Widow - Goldilocks Zone (MP3)

Grass Widow

San Francisco trio Grass Widow will release their new album, Internal Logic, on May 24 via the band's newly-started HLR label. (HLR: Grass Widow's Hannah, Lillian and Raven.) For those who have found previous Grass Widow releases a bit on the obtuse side, the new album (like last year's great "Milo Minute" 7") finds the band in pop mode, or as close as they're going to get. Which means catchy hooks and airy harmonies delivered at an angle. It's a terrific album and you can download its opening track, "Goldilocks Zone," at the top of this post.

New album means new tour, and Grass Widow hit the road at the end of this month, and will be in NYC for the Northside Festival, playing the Panache Booking showcase at Knitting Factory on June 16 with Turbo Fruits, The Black Belles, Gary War, Gap Dream, and Snack Machine. Tickets are on sale now.

All Grass Widow tour dates are listed below, along with a cute little trailer for Internal Logic.


---

Grass Widow - 2012 Tour Dates
Wednesday, May 30 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott's
Thursday, May 31 - Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
Friday, June 1 - Detroit, MI @ Lager House w/ F'ke Blood, Swimsuit
Saturday, June 2 - Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen w/ Hollows
Sunday, June 3rd - Iowa City, IA @ Gabe's w/Wet Hair, Outside World
Monday, June 4 - Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Tuesday, June 5 - Farmington, MO @ The Vault
Wednesday, June 6th - Nashville, TN @ FooBar w/ Heavy Cream
Thursday, June 7 - Chattanooga, TN @ Sluggos w/ Future Virgins, Big Kitty
Friday, June 8 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Saturday, June 9 - Greensboro, NC @ CFBG's
Sunday, June 10 - Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
Monday, June 11 - Harrisonburg, VA @ Blue Nile
Tuesday, June 12 - Washington, DC @ Comet Pizza
Wednesday, June 13 - Albany, NY @ Valentine's
Thursday, June 14 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison w/ The Men, The Black Belles, Mac Demarco, Gap Dream*
Saturday, June 16 - Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory w/ The Black Belles, Gap Dream**
* Panache NXNE Showcase
** Panache Northside Festival Showcase