Gruff Rhys @ BVSXSW 2014 (more by Tim Griffin)
Gruff

Super Furry Animals frontman Gruff Rhys will release his new solo album, American Interior, in North America on November 4 and will be touring in support of it, including an NYC show at Baby's All Right on November 8 (tickets). He's just added a second NYC show, the next day (11/9) at Rough Trade. It's a noon matinee and is free with purchase of American Interior at Rough Trade between 11/4 and day of show. UPDATE: show is now just free, no purchase necessary.

in other news: as you may know, American Interior is also a film (as well as a book and mobile app), all based around Gruff retracing the steps of his distant relative John Evans as he traveled through North America in the 1790s. The film, co-directed by Dylan Goch, will make its NYC premiere at a free BrooklynVegan-presented screening on November 8 at Videology in Williamsburg. It's at 5 PM SHARP screening (Videology is just a few blocks from Baby's), and Gruff will be there to introduce the film. RSVP here; entrance based on capacity. Please arrive early. Hope to see you there!

In other SFA news, bassist Guto Pryce's other band, GULP, makes their NYC debut tonight (10/23, 6:45 PM) at Drom as part of CMJ. It's their only show this week.

Trailer for American Interior (and stream of the album), plus an updated list tour dates, below...

---

American Interior trailer

American Interior: Gruff Rhys in quest for 'lost Welsh tribe' | Channel 4 News

Gruff Rhys - American Interior (full album stream)

Gruff Rhys - 2014 Tour Dates
Thu 06 Nov 2014 Boot & Saddle Philadelphia, PA, US
Fri 07 Nov 2014 Brighton Music Hall Allston, MA, US
Sat 08 Nov 2014 'American Interior' screening at Videology Brooklyn, NY, US
Sat 08 Nov 2014 Baby's All Right Brooklyn, NY, US
Sun 09 Nov 2014 Rough Trade NYC Brooklyn, NY, US
Mon 10 Nov 2014 Horseshoe Tavern Toronto, ON, Canada
Tue 11 Nov 2014 The Loving Touch Ferndale, MI, US
Wed 12 Nov 2014 Schuba's Tavern Chicago, IL, US
Fri 14 Nov 2014 Barboza Seattle, WA, US
Sat 15 Nov 2014 Doug Fir Lounge Portland, OR, US
Tue 18 Nov 2014 The Chapel San Francisco, CA, US
Thu 20 Nov 2014 The Echo Los Angeles, CA, US
Tue 16 Dec 2014 Pepper Canister Church Dublin, Ireland
Wed 17 Dec 2014 Pepper Canister Church Dublin, Ireland
Thu 18 Dec 2014 Sherman Theatre Cardiff, UK
Fri 19 Dec 2014 Sherman Theatre Cardiff, UK
Sat 20 Dec 2014 Sherman Theatre Cardiff, UK