Gruff Rhys celebrated the release of his terrific new orchestral album Babelsberg by playing the album with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales (who played on the record) at Cardiff's Wales Millennium Centre on June 10 as part of Festival of Voice. Before he got to Babelsberg, however, Gruff played a set of other songs from throughout his solo oeuvre with his band that includes Stephen Black (Sweet Baboo), onetime Flaming Lips drummer Kliph Scurlock, plus Osian Gwynedd, Lisa Jên and Mirain Haf. Fellow Welsh artist H. Hawkline opened the night. Pictures, including a few backstage shots are in the gallery above and setlist, plus an interview Gruff talks about the show with the BBC's Huw Stephens, below.

Folks in North America can catch Gruff, minus the orchestra, on tour this fall.


SETLIST: Gruff Rhys @ Wales Millennium Centre 6/10/2018
1. Cryndod Yn Dy Lais
2. Iolo
3. Gwn Mi Wn
4. Ni Yw Y Byd
5. Gyrru Gyrru Gyrru
6. Sensations in the Dark
7. Liberty (Is Where We'll Be)
8. American Interior

-- Babelsberg set with BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Stephen McNeff --

9. Frontier Man
10. The Club
11. Oh Dear!
12. Limited Edition Heart
13. Take That Call
14. Drones In The City
15. Negative Vibes
16. Same Old Song
17. Architecture Of Amnesia
18. Selfies In The Sunset
19. Harvest The Pixels