Guards, the band featuring onetime Willowz members Richie James Follin and Loren Humphrey, are back with their first album since their 2013 debut, In Guards We Trust. In the six years since, Follin and Humphrey relocated to Los Angeles, suffered record label woes, started families, and released a few singles, all while working on the Guards album. Follin also formed CRX with The Strokes' Nick Valensi, while Humphrey is an in-demand session drummer, playing with Tame Impala, The Last Shadow Puppets, Florence + The Machine and more.

Out May 22 on Kobalt, the new record is titled Modern Hymns and finds them with a little more focus on synths but still making catchy, anthemic pop, as you can hear on new single "Last Stand." That song premieres in this post and you can listen, and check out album art and tracklist, below.

Guards album

Modern Hymns tracklist:
01. Skyhigh
02. Take My Mind
03. Destroyer
04. No New
05.You Got Me
6. Anyone
8. Last Stand
9. Fan
10. Momentary Lapse
11. Away

More From Brooklyn Vegan