Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore will be celebrated with a new "oral discography" this year, as Pitchfork points out. It's called We Sing a New Language: The Oral Discography of Thurston Moore, and it's by Nick Soulsby with contributions from peers/collaborators/etc like no waver Lydia Lunch, NYC punk vet Richard Hell, Swans leader Michael Gira, Sonic Youth bandmate Lee Ranaldo, avant-garde composer Glenn Branca, Wilco's Nels Cline, Mogwai's Stuart Braithwaite, Bad Seeds' Jim Sclavunos, Gumball's Don Fleming, underground NYC filmmaker Richard Kern, and 1991: The Year Punk Broke director Dave Markey, plus Thurston himself. The "oral discography" comes out on March 13 via Omnibus Press.

More From Brooklyn Vegan