Guided by Voices in Brooklyn in 2011 (more by Tamara Porras)
Guided by Voices

Late last year, Guided by Voices denied rumors of re-breaking up (they reunited in 2010) and quickly followed that with a new album, Let's Go Eat the Factory, which came out this past January. But it wouldn't be GBV's style to do a reunion album without one or two more the same year, right? They [released] another 21-song full length, Class Clown Spots a UFO, on June 12 and a third new LP, Bears for Lunch, should see a release this November. Rolling Stone recently premiered the title track from Class Clown Spots a UFO, a track that's actually been floating around in the band's repertoire for years and has been finished and re-recorded for the new album. Download that above, or stream it below, along with the album art and tracklist.

Guided by Voices will be playing the CBGB Festival in NYC this summer, and in September they'll kick off a tour with Detective which comes to TX for shows in Houston at Warehouse Live on 9/24 and Austin at Emo's East on 9/25. Tickets for the Austin show are on sale now.

That CBGB Festival show is the big free show in Central Park with The War on Drugs, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, and Cloud Nothings, and it goes from 3-7pm on Saturday (7/7). Get there early because not only is it a killer lineup from start to finish, you want to make sure you get in before it reaches capacity. If you do get shut out, you can always head to Times Square for CYHSY & the Hold Steady (and Superchunk, though Superchunk play before the Central Park show starts and the other two-mentioned bands play during it).

Meanwhile GBV play the Troc in Philly tonight (7.6). Their September tour is with Detective, which is Jim Greer from Guided By Voices' other band. Check out a Detective video with all tour dates and the new GbV album info, below...

Guided by Voices - "Class Clown Spots a UFO"

Guided by Voices - Class Clown Spots a UFO
Class Clown Spots a UFO

Class Clown Spots a UFO Tracklist:
01 - He Rises! Our Union Bellboy
02 - Blue Babbleships Bay
03 - Forever Until it Breaks
04 - Class Clown Spots a UFO
05 - Chain to the Moon
06 - Hang Up and Try Again
07 - Keep it in Motion
08 - Tyson's High School
09 - They and Them
10 - Fighter Pilot
11 - Roll of the Dice, Kick in the Head
12 - Billy Wire
13 - Worm with 7 Broken Hearts
14 - Starfire
15 - Jon the Croc
16 - Fly Baby
17 - All of This Will Go
18 - The Opposite Continues
19 - Be Impeccable
20 - Lost in Spaces
21 - No Transmission

Détective - Rhodesian Man (OFFICIAL VIDEO)

Guided By Voices -- 2012 Tour Dates
7/6 - Philadelphia, PA - Trocadero
7/7 - New York, NY - CBGB Festival at Central Park SummerStage
7/15 - Cincinnati, OH - Bunbury Festival
9/8 - Dayton, OH - Downtown Revival Music Festival
9/14 - Cleveland, OH - Grog Shop
9/18 - Athens, GA - 40 Watt Club*
9/19 - Orlando, FL - The Beacham*
9/21 - Pensacola, FL - DeLuna Festival
9/22 - New Orleans, LA - One Eyed Jacks*
9/24 - Houston, TX - Warehouse Live*
9/25 - Austin, TX - Emo's East*
9/27 - Columbia, MO - Blue Note*
9/28 - Lawrence, KS - Granada*
9/29 - St Louis, MO - Plush*
* With Detective

More From Brooklyn Vegan