Never one to go more than a few months without a record, Robert Pollard will be back with a new Guided by Voices record on March 23. It's titled Space Gun and features the current lineup of the band that includes Doug Gillard, Kevin March, Bobby Bare Jr, and Mark Shue. You can listen to Space Gun's title track (via Consequence of Sound) below. This follows the two GBV albums they released this year, including August by Cake (which was Robert Pollard’s 100th album).

In other news, Matthew Cutter's authorized biography Closer You Are: The Story of Robert Pollard and Guided by Voices will be out in August, 2018 via De Capo Press. Here's the synopsis:

Robert Pollard has been a staple of the indie rock scene since the early 1980s, along with his band Guided by Voices. Pollard was a longtime grade school teacher who toiled endlessly on his music, only finding success after adopting a do-it-yourself approach, relying on lo-fi home recordings for much of his and his band's career. A prolific artist, Pollard continues to churn out album after album, much to the acclaim of critics and his obsessive and devoted fans. But his story has never been faithfully told in its entirety. Until now.

Closer You Are is the authorized biography of Robert Pollard and Guided by Voices. Author Matthew Cutter is a longtime friend of Pollard, and with Pollard's blessing Cutter has set out to tell the whole, true story of Guided by Voices. This will be the first book to take an in-depth look at the man behind it all, with interviews conducted by the author with Pollard's friends, family, and bandmates, along with unfettered access to Pollard himself and his extensive archives, ephemera, and artwork, which many fans will no doubt recognize from the band's numerous album covers. A series of appendices will further illuminate Pollard's solo career, side projects, and art shows.

Robert Pollard has had an amazing and seemingly endless career in rock music, but he's also established himself as a consummate artist who works on his own terms. Now fans can at long last learn the full story behind one of America's greatest living songwriters.

Pre-orders for the book are being taken now and you can check out the cover art below.

Meanwhile, Guided by Voices will head out on short holiday tour next week, playing a sold-out show at The Bell House on December 15. The band have also announced all the dates of their Spring 2018 tour, which includes another NYC-area show at Jersey City’s White Eagle Hall on April 18tickets). Other stops on the tour include Philadelphia, Ann Arbor, Indianapolis, Cleveland, and Ithaca, NY. All dates are listed below.



Guided by Voices - Space Gun tracklist:
01. Space Gun
02. Colonel Paper
03. King Flute
04. Ark Technican
05. See My Field
06. Liar’s Box
07. Blink Bank
08. Daily Get Ups
09. Hudson Rake
10. Sport Component National
11. I Love Kangaroos
12. Grey Spat Matters
13. That’s Good
14. Flight Advantage
15. Evolution Circus


Guided by Voices - 2017/2018 Tour Dates
Fri, Dec 15 – Bell House – Brooklyn, NY
Sat, Dec 16 – The Ballroom at The Outer Space – Hamden, CT
Sat, Dec 30 – Empty Bottle – Chicago, IL
Sun, Dec 31 – Empty Bottle – Chicago, IL
Fri, Apr 13 Blind Pig - Ann Arbor, MI
Sat, Apr 14 HI-FI Indy - Indianapolis, IN
Tue, Apr 17 Union Transfer - Philadelphia, PA
Wed, Apr 18 White Eagle Hall - Jersey City, NJ
Fri, Apr 20 The Haunt - Ithaca, NY
Sat, Apr 21 Grog Shop - Cleveland, OH

More From Brooklyn Vegan