Having already released two albums this year, Guided by Voices are going for the hat trick with Sweating the Plague, which will be out in physical formats on October 25 and digitally on November 1. The band approached this one as "a classic 12 song album experience, made to be played loud" and first single "Heavy Like the World" is the kind of classic, anthemic Guided by Voices rock song that Robert Pollard somehow never seems to run out of. Listen, via Stereogum, below.

Guided by Voices have tour dates coming up, including Riot Fest in Chicago, a Brooklyn show at Industry City on September 27 (tickets), New Year's Eve at Los Angeles' Teragram Ballroom, and more. Dates are listed below.


01 “Downer”
02 “Street Party”
03 “Mother’s Milk Elementary”
04 “Heavy Like the World”
05 “Ego Central High”
06 “The Very Second”
07 Tiger on Top”
08 “Unfun Glitz”
09 “Your Cricket Is Rather Unique”
10 “Immortals”
11 “My Wrestling Days Are Over”
12 “Sons of the Beard”

08/09 – Waynesville, OH, @ Ohio Renaissance Festival Grounds
08/10 – Waynesville, OH @ Bellwether Festival
09/13- 09/15 – Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
09/27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Industry City
09/28 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
11/29 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop
11/30 – Detroit, MI @ Saint Andrews Hall
12/06 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
12/07 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
12/31 – Los Angeles, CA (SOLD OUT) @ Teragram Ballroom

More From Brooklyn Vegan