by Bill Pearis

Happyness

Young London trio Happyness coulda dropped into American college radio circa 1999 with a laid-back sound somewhere between Summerteeth and Terror Twilight. As mentioned, the band released Weird Little Birthday and an EP this year and both are worth checking out. Knowing the difference between mellow and boring, these guys write effortlessly melodic songs loaded with all sorts of great, seemingly tossed-off asides (and at least one Prefab Sprout reference) that will have you reaching for the lyrics sheet (or wishing you had one). Streams below.

Happyness will be in NYC for CMJ and you have no shortage of chances to see them, many of which are free:

Tue 21 Oct (4:20 PM) - Baby's All Right (TAYF day party, FREE)
Tue 21 Oct (8 PM) - Rockwood Music Hall (WFUV showcase)
Wed 22 Oct (6:15 PM) - Pianos NYC (Kanine party, FREE)
Wed 22 Oct (9:30 PM) Glasslands Gallery (NME showcase)
Thu 23 Oct (4 PM) - Rough Trade day party (FREE)
Fri 24 Oct (2:30 PM) - Rockwood Music Hall (Missing Piece day party, FREE)
Fri 24 Oct (8:40 PM) - Baby's All Right (Panache showcase)
Sat 25 Oct (2:30 PM) - Cake Shop (Flavorpill / Panache day show, FREE)

All dates are listed, along with CMJ flyer and EP streams, below.

---

Happyness - Montreal Rock Band Somewhere

Happyness

Happyness - 2014 Tour Dates
Fri 03 Oct 2014 The Deaf Institute Manchester, UK
Sun 05 Oct 2014 Parish Huddersfield, UK
Mon 06 Oct 2014 Broadcast Glasgow, UK
Wed 08 Oct 2014 Thekla Bristol, UK
Thu 09 Oct 2014 Unknown venue Norwich, UK
Fri 10 Oct 2014 Islington Assembly Hall London, UK
Sat 11 Oct 2014 Westgarth Social Club Middlesbrough, UK
Sun 12 Oct 2014 Fulford Arms York, UK
Tue 14 Oct 2014 The Rocking Chair Sheffield, UK
Wed 15 Oct 2014 Hare & Hounds - Venue 2 Birmingham, UK
Fri 17 Oct 2014 The Cookie Leicester, UK
Sat 18 Oct 2014 Sŵn Festival 2014 Cardiff, UK
Tue 21 Oct (4:20 PM) - NYC CMJ Baby's All Right (TAYF day party)
Tue 21 Oct (8 PM) - NYC CMJ Rockwood Music Hall (WFUV showcase)
Wed 22 Oct (6:15 PM) - NYC CMJ Pianos NYC (day show)
Wed 22 Oct (9:30 PM) NYC CMJ Glasslands Gallery
Thu 23 Oct (4PM) - NYC CMJ Rough Trade day party
Fri 24 Oct (2:30 PM) - NYC CMJ Rockwood Music Hall (Missing Piece day party)
Fri 24 Oct (8:40 PM) - NYC CMJ Baby's All Right (Panache showcase)
Sat 25 Oct (2:30 PM) - NYC CMJ Cake Shop (Flavorpill / Panache day show)
Tue 04 Nov 2014 Electrowerkz London, UK