Former Das Racist and current Swet Shop Boys member Heems released a new solo song today, "Blades," which will appear on the upcoming Philia: Artists Rise Against Islamophobia compilation (due 8/19 via Floating House), which benefits Unity Productions Foundation. The comp also has music by Mac DeMarco, Hamilton Leithauser, John Vanderslice, Vetiver, Emel Mathlouthi, The Dodos, Fruit Bats, Khruangbin, and more. Stream Heems' song and see the full tracklist below (via Stereogum).

Heems is also playing a Brooklyn show to benefit Unity Productions Foundation a few days after the album comes out, August 24 at Brooklyn Bazaar. That's with Drop Electric and Small Leaks Sink Ships (who are both also on the comp), and Slow Machete. Tickets are on sale.

There are also live events planned for DC, Philly, San Francisco, and LA in conjunction with the comp's release.

Swet Shop Boys also play Montreal's Osheaga and NYC's The Meadows. Heems also made a semi-surprise appearance at the Your Old Droog/Wiki/Edan show at Knitting Factory Brooklyn last night. The photo above is from that show. More pics and a review HERE.

01 Mac DeMarco – “Don Juan”
02 Drop Electric – “Aisha And The Knife”
03 Heems – “Blades”
04 Hamilton Leithauser – “Song With No Name” (Shane MacGowan And The Popes Cover)
05 Khruangbin – “Ma Be Ham Nemiresim” (Googoosh Cover)
06 Fruit Bats – “Salamander”
07 Small Leaks Sink Ships – “Sympathetic Resonance”
08 Emel Mathlouthi – “Insanity”
09 The Dodos – “Mirror Fake”
10 Vetiver – “Lumiere”
11 John Vanderslice – “Karma Police” (Radiohead Cover)

More From Brooklyn Vegan