Before Ex Hex and Wild Flag, Mary Timony fronted very distinctive indie rock band Helium who released two full-length albums and a handful of singles and EPs in the 1990s. Matador Records is reissuing on vinyl the lion's share of Helium's discography on May 19. That includes: 1994's The Dirt of Luck; 1997's The Magic City has been expanded as a double-LP to include the No Guitars EP from the same year; and a new 19-track compilation, Ends With Ands, featuring rarities, non-LP singles, EP cuts, b-sides, and unreleased demos.

Says Timony, "Compiling Ends with And has been like stumbling upon a long forgotten time capsule and trying to put the pieces in order. I hadn’t heard most of the songs in a very long time. I pored over hours of unlabeled cassette demos, odd test pressings, and DAT’s good to know that these songs will all be in one place now." The vinyl reissues and new compilation are available for preorder now and you can check out "Hole In The Ground" and a remastered version of the "XXX" video (originally on 1994's Pirate Prude EP), both of which are on Ends With And, below.

Mary Timony will also be taking those Helium songs on the road, with Hospitality's Brian Betancourt and David Christian as her backing band. The shows are dubbed "Mary Timony plays Helium" and includes two stops in NYC: June 8 at Rough Trade as part of the Northside Festival, and June 9 at Mercury Lounge. Tickets for Rough Trade and Mercury Lounge will be on sale Friday, March 24 at noon.

All tour dates are listed, along with Ends with And's artwork and tracklist, below.


Mary Timony Plays Helium - 2017 Tour Dates
6/6 - Washington, DC - Rock & Roll Hotel
6/7 - Philadelphia, PA - Boot and Saddle
6/8 - Brooklyn, NY - Northside Festival - Rough Trade
6/9 - New York, NY - Mercury Lounge
6/10 - Boston, MA - The Sinclair
6/12 - Toronto, ON - Horseshoe Tavern
6/13 - Cleveland, OH - Beachland Ballroom
6/14 - Detroit, MI - Marble Bar
6/15 - Chicago, IL - The Empty Bottle


Helium - Ends With And tracklist:
1. Baby Vampire Made Me
2. XXX
3. OOO
4. Love $$$
5. Lucy
6. Termite Tree
7. Hole In The Ground
8. Magic Box
9. Superball (Demo)
10. What Institution Are You From?
11. Lucky Charm
12. #12 L'Enfant
13. I Am A Witch
14. Ghost Car (Demo)
15. Puffin Stars
16. Leon's Space Song (Demo)
17. The Dragon #1
18. Fantastic Castle
19. Golden Bridge (Demo)

More From Brooklyn Vegan