Hercules & Love Affair will release new album Omnion on August 18 (preorder). Says main force Andy Butler of the LP:

In a time when it seems people are so quick to shout at the top of their lungs that they know best, that they have the answers, whether because of information or misinformation, ‘Omnion’ is a tiny gesture of acknowledging the unknown, an admission of the uncertainty we are all confronted with as cognizant human beings.

Essentially the album ‘Omnion' is about a queering of faith, creating room for the questioning "others" in a perfectly imperfect temple. I can’t wait for you to hear it.

The album's title track features Sharon Van Etten on lead vocals. "This song is so vulnerable, but strong," says Sharon. "Coming to terms with identity and finding community... (in my mind). It's a very important time to share in that sentiment... I really appreciate Andy reaching out to collaborate. His heart beats in his songs." You can stream it, and a Hercules & Love Affair remix of Sharon's "Not Myself" below.

The also features two songs with Faris Badwan of The Horrors (who are also back), and you can watch the video for one of them, "Controller," below.

This continues Sharon Van Etten's very busy year, which also includes singing on six songs on Lee Ranaldo's upcoming album and a number of songs on the new Land of Talk album; plus she's in the new Twin Peaks (and playing David Lynch's festival), she's on the The Man in High Castle soundtrack, she scored Strange Weather, and she's on The OA.


Hercules & Love Affair - Omnion - tracklist:
01 “Omnion” (Feat. Sharon Van Etten)
02 “Controller” (Feat. Faris Badwan)
03 “Rejoice” (Feat. Rouge Mary)
04 “Are You Still Certain?” (Feat. Mashrou’ Leila)
05 “Running” (Feat. Sisy Ey)
06 “Fools Wear Crowns”
07 “Lies” (Feat. Gustaph)
08 “Wildchild” (Feat. Rouge Mary)
09 “My Curse & Cure” (Feat. Gustaph)
10 “Through Your Atmosphere” (Feat. Faris Badwan)
11 “Epilogue” (Feat. Gustaph)

More From Brooklyn Vegan