Hot Hot Heat haven't released an album since 2010's surprisingly good Future Breeds (their best since their debut), but that will change this year with a self-titled LP due out June 24 via Kaw-Liga Records. It'll also be the band's last. Frontman Steve Bays says in a press release:

To be able to tour from 1999 to 2014 and play hundreds of shows a year was amazing. It changed all of our lives. It was the greatest experience I could ever imagine. I can relate to our fans and I respect our fans. They are the kind of people I'd hang out with. I'm proud of every single record, and of finding the ground between making it challenging and fresh, but also not being afraid to be entertaining and put on a crazy show. Every show we ever did was just a total high energy spectacle and that's a great legacy to have.

No word yet if they'll tour in support of this new one.

The first single is "Kid Who Stays In The Picture," which sounds like a Hot Hot Heat song all right. It's more like their popular stuff than Future Breeds, and it doesn't sound bad at all. Check it out for yourself, with the album artwork and tracklist, below.


Hot Hot Heat

01. Kid Who Stays In The Picture
02. Modern Mind
03. Pulling Levers
04. Bobby Joan Sex Tape
05. Magnitude
06. Mayor Of The City
07. Alaskan Midnight Sun
08. Comeback Of The Century
09. Sad Sad Situation
10. The Memory's Here

More From Brooklyn Vegan