IDLES have shared details of their third album which is titled Ultra Mono and will be out September 25 via Partisan. They recorded the album in Paris with producers Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy), with Kenny Beats (Vince Staples, Rico Nasty, Denzel Curry) on hand for additional programming. The album also features appearances from The Jesus Lizard's David Yow, Savages' Jehnny Beth, Bad Seeds member Warren Ellis, and Jamie Cullum.

The band have also just shared new single "Grounds." "We wanted to write a song that embodied self-belief, and gave us self-belief - a counter-punch to all the doubt we build up from all the noise we so easily let in," says frontman Joe Talbot." We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts’ marching band, armed with a jack hammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did. Thank you." Jack hammer with a smile is indeed a good descriptor for this one and you can watch the music video for it below.

Ahead of the new album, IDLES will be doing three special livestream performances from "an iconic studio" on Aug 29-30. Tickets are on sale now.

Joe Talbot also appeared on new albums by Jehnny Beth and Anna Calvi.

idles ultra mono

‘Ultra Mono’ tracklist:
1. War
2. Grounds
3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them With Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke


More From Brooklyn Vegan