Influential jazz and blues great Mose Allison, who died in 2016, is getting the tribute album treatment, with Iggy Pop, Elvis Costello, Fiona Apple, Richard Thompson, Frank Black, Chrissie Hynde, Bonnie Raitt, and more contributing covers. It's titled If You’re Going to The City and will be out November 29 via Fat Possum. You can listen to five songs off of it now, including Frank Black's take on "Numbers of Paper" and Iggy Pop doing the song that gives the compilation its title. "What can I say? Both musically and lyrically Mose is more grounded than most, and, at the same time, existentially beyond everything else out there," says Frank Black. "'Numbers On Paper' is a relevant song to humanity at whatever point in the time space continuum, or "spime" as Mose says, that you want to place that song. It's classic Mose, funny and heavy.” Listen those songs, plus ones from Taj Mahal, Jackson Browne, and Loudon Wainwright III, below.

You can pre-order the tribute nowand CD/LP versions come with Paul Bernay’s 2005 Mose Allison documentary, Ever Since I Stole The Blues. (Watch the trailer for that below.) Proceeds will be donated to the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund.

If You’re Going to The City tracklist:
1. Taj Mahal - Your Mind Is On Vacation
2. Robbie Fulks - My Brain
3. Jackson Browne - If You Live
4. The Tippo Allstars featuring Fiona Apple - Your Molecular Structure
5. Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite - Nightclub
6. Chrissie Hynde - Stop This World
7. Iggy Pop - If You're Going to the City
8. Bonnie Raitt - Everybody's Crying Mercy
9. Loudon Wainwright III - Ever Since the World Ended
10. Richard Thompson - Parchman Farm
11. Peter Case - I Don't Worry About A Thing
12. Dave Alvin and Phil Alvin - Wild Man On the Loose
13. Anything Mose! - The Way of the World
14. Frank Black - Numbers On Paper
15. Amy Allison with Elvis Costello - Monsters of the Id

More From Brooklyn Vegan