Muzz, the new group featuring Interpol's Paul Banks, Josh Kaufman (Bonny Light Horseman, Day of the Dead, Josh Ritter, etc), and Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater, Fleet Foxes), have announced their self-titled debut album which will be out June 6 via Matador. Though it's a new project, the three have known each other for a long time. Banks and Kaufman have known each other since childhood, and Barrick played drums with Banks & Steelz. Songs grew out of jam sessions. “Ultimately, the music speaks for itself,” says Banks. “We have a genuine, organic artistic chemistry together. It’s partly a shared musical taste from youth, as with me and Josh, but then it’s also the souls of my friends that resonate with me when expressed through music. I think it’s cosmic.”

Previously released singles "Broken Tambourine" and "Bad Feeling" are both on the album and, as promised, they've just shared a third, the lush, mossy "Red Western Sky" which comes with a video directed by the band and set at Pennsylvania's quirky American Treasure Tour Museum. Watch that, and check out the other two singles, below.


Muzz Tracklist:
1. Bad Feeling
2. Evergreen
3. Red Western Sky
4. Patchouli
5. Everything Like It Used To Be
6. Broken Tambourine
7. Knuckleduster
8. Chubby Checker
9. How Many Days
10. Summer Love
11. All Is Dead To Me
12. Trinidad

More From Brooklyn Vegan