No Wave legends James Chance & the Contortions are set to release their first proper album since the '80s. Produced by longtime Contortions guitarist Tomás Doncker, it's titled The Flesh is Weak and will be out via True Groove Records on November 11, featuring brand new material and favorites from their live set.

The band, which also includes Eric Klaastad (bass/vocals), Richard Dworkin (drums/vocals), Mac Gollehon (trumpet), and Robert Aaron (saxophone/keyboards), will play a record release show at NYC's Bowery Electric on November 10 with BUENO and Logan X. Tickets go on sale Friday, August 26 at 10 AM with a BrooklynVegan presale beginning Tuesday, August 23 at 10 AM. Check back Tuesday morning for the password.

The Contortions' "Contort Yourself" made Pitchfork's Best Songs of the '70s list. Flyer for the release show is below.



More From Brooklyn Vegan