British experimental duo Jockstrap is the project of Georgia Ellery and Taylor Skye, who signed to Warp earlier this year, releasing their first single for the label, "Acid," in February. Now they've announced a new EP, Wicked City, due out on Warp on June 5. You can see the cover art and tracklist below.

"Wicked City is a response to Love is the key to the City [the duo's 2018 EP]," Georgia Ellery says. "The two present a dichotomy in both understanding and feeling. The songs on Wicked City are presented in chronological order, with ‘Robert’ written in the summer of 2018 and ‘City Hell’ in summer 2019. The EP was finished in January 2020. The heavy autobiographical narrative of Wicked City is married to an expressive and limitless sound world; influenced by everything we have ever musically absorbed and moulded with a 'fuck it' attitude. Particular musical features of this record include classical composition, through-composed songwriting and the heavy influence of dubstep. There are multiple narratives to Wicked City: sanity to madness; realism to surrealism and innocence to experience. But when it comes down to it, it’s a breakup/breakdown record that presents how I dealt with losing what I had when I wrote love is the key."

They've shared a new single, "The City," which starts out as a minimal piano track but swerves into an electro breakdown three-quarters of the way through. "When we made 'The City,'" Georgia told Pitchfork in a recent interview, "Taylor worked on the second half of it, the big beat section, then sent it to me—then he messaged me like, 'Don’t listen to it, just come here.' I remember sitting down in his chair, and he was standing there with a smile on his face. He was so stoked." It's a very cool song, and you can listen to it below.

Jockstrap - Wicked City Tracklist
1. Robert
2. Acid
3. Yellow In Green
4. The City
5. City Hell

More From Brooklyn Vegan