IMAGE

As mentioned, sci-fi/horror master and composer John Carpenter will be releasing Lost Themes via Sacred Bones on February 3.  (Pre-order.) There will be a deluxe edition of the record available too, with remixes by Zola Jesus & Dean Hurley, Blanck Mass, Bill Kouligas, Silent Servant, Ohgr (Skinny Puppy), and J.G Thirlwell. None of the remixes have been shared yet, but you can listen to "Vortex" from the album below.

In conjunction with this, BAM will be presenting a monthlong retrospective featuring all of the director's work titled "John Carpenter: Master of Fear" from February 5 - 22. The series kicks off on February 5 at the BAM Howard Gillman Opera House with a conversation between Carpenter and NPR's Brooke Gladstone. Tickets for that event are on sale now for BAM Cinema Club members, and go on sale to the general public on Thursday (12/18).

The film series includes Carpenter's best-known films (Halloween, The Thing, Escape from New York, Starman) as well as lesser-known gems like Assault on Precinct 13 and They Live. The retrospective also features "Carpenter Selects," a sidebar showcasing three films with exceptional scores that the director has cited as influences on his work: William Friedkin's Sorcerer, Sam Peckinpah's Straw Dogs, and sci-fi classic Forbidden Planet. Tickets for the screenings are on sale now for BAM Cinema Club members and will go on sale to the general public on Thursday. Full schedule of screenings, most of which are being shown in 35mm, below.

---

"John Carpenter: Master of Fear" @ BAM Schedule

Thu, Feb 5
8pm: John Carpenter: Lost Themes with Brooke Gladstone

Fri, Feb 6
3, 5, 7:30, 10pm: Halloween

Sat, Feb 7
7, 9:30pm: The Thing

Sun, Feb 8
6:30, 8:30pm: The Fog

Mon, Feb 9
5, 7:15, 9:30pm: In the Mouth of Madness

Tue, Feb 10
5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Memoirs of an Invisible Man

Wed, Feb 11
5, 7:15, 9:30pm: Prince of Darkness

Thu, Feb 12
7:30, 9:30pm: Dark Star

Fri, Feb 13
2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: Big Trouble in Little China

Sun, Feb 15
2, 6:30pm: Assault on Precinct 13
4, 8:30pm: Straw Dogs

Mon, Feb 16
2, 7pm: Christine
4:30, 9:30pm: Sorcerer

Tue, Feb 17
5, 7:15pm: Forbidden Planet
9:30pm: Vampires

Wed, Feb 18
5, 9:40pm: Village of the Damned
7:30pm: Vampires

Thu, Feb 19
5, 7:15pm: Ghosts of Mars
9:30pm: The Ward

Fri, Feb 20
2:30, 5, 7:30, 9:45pm: They Live

Sat, Feb 21
2, 7pm: Escape from New York
4:30, 9:30pm: Escape from L.A.

Sun, Feb 22
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Starman