Bon Iver leader Justin Vernon and The National guitarists Aaron & Bryce Dessner recently launched a new online music platform called PEOPLE, and today they released PEOPLE Mixtape Vol 1 on that platform and other streaming services. It features two new songs from Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner's Big Red Machine album, which comes out 8/31 via PEOPLE/Jagjaguwar, "Deep Green" and "I Won't Run From It." Both do an awesome job of combining Justin Vernon's unmistakable singing with his and Aaron's experimental pop tendencies, as you can hear for yourself below.

The mixtape also includes the new song "Star Mouth" from Justin Vernon, Ryan Olson (Polica, Gayngs), Andrew Broder (Fog), and Psymun; "Santa Anges" from Justin Vernon, Aaron Dessner, Boys Noize, Ben Lanz, Jeremy Nutzman (Marijuana Deathsquads) and Kristin Anna Valtysdottir (múm); "Hardest Time" by Aaron & Bryce Dessner's Red Bird Hollow project, "Swan" by Lisa Hannigan, Aaron Dessner, and Enda Walsh; "Spree" by Aaron & Bryce Dessner, Mouse On Mars, Alex Ridha, and Thom Green (alt-J); and more. Listen to those songs below and check out the whole mixtape here.

The National are in NYC in September for their There's No Leaving New York festival, and you can enter to win a VIP experience that includes soundcheck accesss and a two-night hotel stay.

More From Brooklyn Vegan