Country singer Kacey Musgraves talked recently about how her anticipated new album Golden Hour would have a "trippy" twist and influence from the Bee Gees, Sade, and Neil Young. Kacey has now revealed more details on the album and released the first two singles, "Space Cowboy" and "Butterflies," and you can definitely hear some of those new influences coming through. "Space Cowboy" is more atmospheric and closer to what you might call "trippy" than most of what Kacey's done before, and it's got a lyrical nod to Neil Young's "After the Gold Rush." "Butterflies" is powered by a poppy piano line that could be the Bee Gees influence, or maybe The Beach Boys (whose Brian Wilson has collaborated with Kacey), or maybe Grizzly Bear's "Two Weeks." When recently writing about my hopes for this album, I said it sounds like it could be her most appealing album to indie fans yet, and these two new songs make that feel even more true. Listen below.

Kacey co-wrote and co-produced the album with Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian. That's the artwork above and you can check out the tracklist below. It's due out on March 30 via MCA Nashville (pre-order). Kacey will also be performing new music on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on Monday (2/26).

1. Slow Burn
2. Lonely Weekend
3. Butterflies
4. Oh, What a World
5. Mother
6. Love Is a Wild Thing
7. Space Cowboy
8. Happy & Sad
9. Velvet Elvis
10. Wonder Woman
11. High Horse
12. Golden Hour
13. Rainbow

More From Brooklyn Vegan